Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Online Marketing Hwk #1

My IP address is 68.199.90.148

Hostname: ool-44c75a94.dyn.optonline.net

White Plains, NY is where the host is located.

I am currently at home in White Plains, NY.

Log in to http://www.google.com/analytics/indexu.html and answer the following questions about the web site statistics for the class site for the most recent full calendar month (November 2009):

Look at Visitors: How many visits did the site receive in this period? 557 Visitors

Of the cities from which people visited the site, which one is furthest from SUNY Purchase? Newcastle, Australia 10,042 miles

Which browser was least used by site visitors in this period? There are many with one visitor, which one??

Look at Traffic Sources. Which keywords accounted for the most visits in this period?

Keywords

Visits

% visits

internet business wiki

146

50.87%

internet and business wiki

23

8.01%

paula intervallo

15

5.23%

Look at Content. Which page on the site was most visited in this period? How many visits did it receive?

Pages

Pageviews

% Pageviews

/outline-and-learning-outcomes

752

13.83%

Look at Goals. Note that I set up the goal to be a visit to the Assignments page. I also assigned a value of $10 to the goal. What was the average conversion rate over this period? 11.50% Goal Conversion Rate

Click on Goal Value. If I received $10 for every person who visited the Assignments page in November 2009, how much would I have made? $1,450.00 Total Goal Value

Click on Funnel Visualization. What percent of visitors visited the home page and then visited the Assignments page? 10%

Find a business web site from a different industry to David's that you believe is effective. Write down three or four bullet points explaining why you think that site is effective and the principles that David could apply to his own web site. Put a link to that site next to your name on the student page of the class wiki.

http://www.audiusa.com/us/brand/en.html

-aesthetically pleasing

-website has a professional look

-well-organized, easy to navigate

-website allows customer to explore customized options of their potential purchase

-pricing is also available for the potential purchase

Find a display ad for the kinds of products David sells. What site is that display ad on? (provide a clickable link as your answer)

Find a blog or forum or online user community related to David's business. How might David participate in that blog or forum or community in a way that helps his business?

He should look for forums where someone has questions about remodeling their bathroom and answer their questions as a professional and have his business information on the post, so the user can get in contact with him and possible become a customer.

Write down some search terms that customers might use when looking for the kinds of products David sells. Type them into a search engine and see which sites are listed highest (do not include sponsored search results). Put links to the top three sites in your answer. Why do you think they were listed highest?

“bathroom renovation”:

  1. http://homerenovations.about.com/od/bathrooms/a/artbathrmremod.htm
  2. http://www.hgtv.com/bathrooms/index.html
  3. http://www.modernbathroom.com/

“bathroom remodel”

  1. http://www.hgtv.com/bathrooms/index.html
  2. http://www.abathroomguide.com/
  3. http://www.calfinder.com/bathroom-remodeling

Website that are listed the highest are based on the number of hits/popularity that the website receives.

Search advertising:

Use the Google keyword tool to find the relevant keywords that are searched most frequently. What are they? How many times do Google users search for these terms in an average month?

Bathroom renovation=40,500

Bathroom renovations=40,500

Renovations bathroom=40,500

Bathroom renovation ideas=3,600

Use the Google Traffic Estimator to estimate the cost per day of advertising using your proposed keywords. What is that cost? (copy and paste your results into the body of your blog)

KeywordsSearch VolumeEstimated Avg. CPCEstimated Ad PositionsEstimated Clicks / DayEstimated Cost / Day
bathroom renovation
$1.00 - $1.381 - 39 - 11$9 - $20
Search Network Total $1.00 - $1.381 - 39 - 11$9 - $20

If 1% of people who click on his ad made a purchase, what is David's customer acquisition cost from search advertising?

(using the estimated avg. cpc of $1.38)

$1.38*1/.01=$138.00

David's average sale value is $4000. His gross margin is 50%. Does it make sense for David to do search advertising using the keywords you proposed?

4000*.5=$2000.00

It doesn’t make sense unless you use more specific keywords used in your Google Keyword in order to narrow down your customer base. Maybe include Greenwich, CT in the keyword.

Investigate social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter. How might David use those sites in his marketing campaign?

David can use Facebook advertising by advertising to users belonging to networks where his store is located, i.e. Greenwich, CT, Stamford, CT, etc. He could also create a Twitter account that gives daily bathroom remodeling tips and ask his friends to follow and for them to tell their friends to follow, and hopefully the good word of his business will spread to potential customers.